What should be Private, and What shouldn’t be?

On social media, there are some things that I believe should be kept private from online interacting, and some things that I do not consider a big deal when it comes to privacy.  When it comes to me and social media I keep all of my online profiles private.  I do not believe that anyone who has a computer should be able to access all of my information and pictures.  Even though I keep my profiles private, I still do not put information on there that is too personal.  I do not list where I go to school, my phone numbers, addresses or any information that someone could  use to easily track me down.  I find this information to be too personal and should be kept private.  I also do not post pictures of my home or use my location services on my phone to tag where I am when the pictures being taken.  I do not like the fact that people could use this information in order to find me if they wanted to.  I am very cautious when it comes to putting information on online social media sites because I am aware that even though I set my profile as private there are still ways of getting past that.  I think that there is no point of posting this personal information like your phone number for example, because the people who you want to have your phone number probably have it, and those who you do not want to have it should not be able to easily access it within a click of a button.  I also think that all of my photos should be private, I do not think that it is necessary for anyone to view your pictures, especially people you do not know. I think that what you do, and what you take pictures of should remain private for only people you actually know to view it.

I find there to be a problem with corporations and government to be able to freely view anything about you through social media. I do not find it right that corporations can search through your online profiles in order to determine if you can get a job with them or not. Some people do not even realize what kind of things can be found out about them through one simple Google search. People can tag you in things, and post things about you; which you have no control over, and the government and corporations can still access that and judge accordingly through that. I also do not find it right that corporations and government can still look at your profiles even though they are private. If you plan to keep your work and social life separate then there should be no reason for a corporation to judge you through what you post for your friends to see. I think that social media lets out too much private information that can be accessed way too easily, and this information that is accessed could be used to determine a lot of important things in your life.

Leave a Reply

